top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureNoah Moore

Playas and Phone Plans

Here I am, writing this in the corner of the teacher's lounge at my school in Arcos de la Frontera--today is the first day, and it has been a long process to get here, so I am more than anything grateful. I have to say, walking past hundreds of Spanish high schoolers to enter the building was a feeling I haven't felt since middle school! But for this blog, I just want to catch you up on everything else first.


Over the past two weeks or so, I have gotten well-acquainted with Jerez, the city I am living in, and have found my fair share of challenges, including learning how to air dry my clothes (I sound so spoiled, I know). But even beyond that, for every amazing date or experience I have had (yes, dates, ikr!), there is something new to learn and become accustomed to. For example, the meal times; most bars and restaurants are closed during the mid-day, one might say for a siesta but I am not convinced.




Meals have been difficult for me, I guess since my diet was so horrible in the U.S. But even so, I have found my grocery stores (love Aldi, but Mercadona is the best) and my snacks and meals for the week. My favorite food I tried is below--croquetas de remolacha, or beet croquets. They also eat so late, so snacks have become essential... as if they ever weren't for me. ;-) If you ever want a tip, the campesina chips are amazing here, they're tomato, garlic and basil flavored which is way better than it sounds.


If you want a story of struggle sprinkled in here, let me tell you that I still do not know my phone plan I signed up for with Orange, because she spoke so fast and I just wanted to have service... I would NOT recommend, but hey, being a guiri--the word here for foreigner--is not always easy!


I'm telling you-- we are obsessed.

Jerez itself is perfect--walkable, but also big enough that there's lots to do. I think it's similar to Cincinnati in that way. The better thing is that it is just 15-20min from the beach, where my friend Sammi and I went for a day trip. It is soooo beautiful, and even nicer not being so far from a shower!




I also moved into my first apartment, which has a huge closet and my own floor, with a terrace--along with two Spanish guys I met on a renting website that actually turned out to be super awesome. I have to say, their Spanish is tough to understand, as is everyone's in Andalucia. They have a habit of omitting their endings on words, especially the -es and -s. In fact, Jerez itself is pronounced Jere-. Tell me about it...


Our doorstep!


I have made some friends with fellow Auxes, or people in my program, but also with native Spaniards and even some from Ireland and Italy--if you know me, this is what I was so excited for and it has been soooo awesome to hear about their experiences. We had a dinner with my friends Sammi and Catherine's roommates, who are from India and Spain, and it was legit the best meal I have had in a long time (I still miss your chicken squares, Mom!!).


We had curry, vegan burritos, guacamole, and--my speciality-- the fried potatoes! How American of me...

Things can get really hard, but I am trying to make the best of it and loving what I have found so far. These first two weeks before classes started were like summer camp--no responsibilities, no friends at first. But now that I have everything set, it's time to start working! I will be helping teach biology and music classes, so it will definitely be an adjustment! Missing all of you, sending my love desde España!





110 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page