top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureNoah Moore

My Favorite Show: Fun Home

As I kick off my theatre blogging account and before I begin seeing my fall round of shows, I want to start by telling you a little about me--AKA talking about my favorite show I’ve ever seen. This is FUN HOME, which premiered on Broadway in 2015 at the Circle in the Square Theater after an acclaimed run at the Public Theater. The show is an adaptation of Alison Bechdel’s 2006 graphic memoir, which depicted her coming to terms with being lesbian while her father grapples with his queerness filled with grappling melodies and gorgeous strings. There are scenes in which we see subtle queer-ties in Alison as a child, coming out in college, and circling back as an adult to figure out what to make of the mess of her past.

As a formerly closeted queer high schooler, it’s not hard to see why this is my favorite, considering the subject matter. It starred Beth Malone, Emily Skeggs, and Sydney Lucas as three versions of Allison at different ages--and they were all nominated for Tonys, Sydney at just 12 years old. We even got to see Michael Cerveris, who played the father AND won the Tony Award, after the show when we went to see it.

My high school theatre department after FUN HOME, with star Michael Cerveris (back center) in April 2016.

The show has some really moving moments, but what will surprise you is the humorous ones--like children dancing in caskets, as it’s set in a funeral home--get it, fun home? When it transferred to Broadway, it became an in-the-round show, which meant the audiences were on all sides (aka my favorite type of theatre).

Fun Home Touring Company performing 'Come to the Fun Home.' Photo: Tampa Bay Times

The music is entirely female-written and absolutely gorgeous, and it deservedly won the 2015 Tony for Best Musical, and inspired young queer people like me that the arts could help us heal. Favorite tracks are Telephone Wire (sung by Beth Malone and Michael Cerveris), Days and Days (sung by the lovely Judy Kuhn, of Disney Princess fame) and Flying Away (sung by all three Alisons at the final moment of reckoning). Check this soundtrack out (on all streaming platforms) and stay tuned because Jake Gyllenhall recently announced a film version starring himself as the father, Bruce, beginning development soon (I'm still a Swiftie, don't you worry!).


'FUN HOME: A FAMILY TRAGICOMIC' by Allison Bechdel--the novel that inspired the musical.



4 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page