top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureNoah Moore

Missed Connections & Marmelada

Well, 48 hours of travel and a whole lot of airline food later, I have officially arrived in Jerez to start apartment hunting and tie up all my loose ends before starting to teach next week. It has been a long weekend filled with lots of travel, but also so many cool experiences.


I left New York on Friday at 9pm bracing myself for a long flight and luckily had an empty seat next to me AND in front of me, so you can bet I stretched out across the entire plane practically. Funnily enough, the other woman in my row not only was heading to Jerez too, but she had a bag of vanilla tootsie rolls...which my mom also packed me (thanks, Mom!). It felt like what I call a God wink., or the universe saying I was on the right track, even if I couldn't quite stomach my mid-flight meal.


After landing in Madrid at 10am local time (4am EST), I was exhausted-- maybe it was the melatonin pill or maybe it was sleeping in a cardboard seat for eight hours, but either way I had. a long, nine-hour layover in the airport awaiting me. After exhausting every option for a bed or shower, I settled for a Starbucks drink and fell asleep on the bench--at least it was comfier than the plane seat!





I kept digging around on the internet and found a lounge that was 20 euros for unlimited food, a shower and, of course, wine. There I spent the agony-filled nine hours waiting for my connection flight to Sevilla, which went off without a hitch. Once I arrived there, I settled into my hostel and, despite being tired, still managed to meet a girl from my program out.



My meal in the lounge at the Madrid-Barajas airport


There, I was greeted with a large group of people from Ireland, Germany and Spain and knew I was in the right place. I tried a 'Tinto de Verano' drink, which was essentially wine and seltzer water, but boy oh boy--it is a winner, and strong too. Oh, and did I mention it was like 1.5 euros per drink; that beats Cincinnati bars by a mile.



My hostel in Sevilla--I guess I booked a three-bed room accidentally!


After that, she took me on a walking tour of the city and got to feel like a local, even if I looked like an American tourist. They actually have a word for that--guiri. It is an endearing term for a tourist/outsider, and let me tell you... the next day I would truly embody one!


I left Sevilla the next morning with some toast and marmelada (jelly) for Jerez via train and shamelessly ordered McDonald's. As the train approached Jerez, I got out of my seat and lugged my two 60-pound suitcases to the door, but before I could, the train started moving. I had missed my stop...I was a truly GUIRI.


Breakfast in Sevilla


My train to Jerez... maybe if I had spent less time taking pictures I wouldn't have missed my stop... lesson learned.


Luckily, the people of Spain couldn't be kinder and two women behind me helped me find the next stop, where I booked a 2-euro ticket back to Jerez and met the kindest Americans who recognized my University of Florida hat (it was my Papa's!). Somehow, someway, I made it to Jerez and toured the city by foot, where I literally TEARED UP--there was so much buzz, cobblestone streets and a cute ferris wheel. It was everything I imagined!



Jerez de la Frontera, Spain--isn't it so cute!!


The loneliness and homesickness haven't quite set in yet, but I know they will. It's all about dealing with those emotions, along with all the aforementioned good stuff too. I am so excited for this next chapter and will hopefully get around to fighting this jet lag. But for now, buenas noches and I miss you all!


The view from my Airbnb while I wait to find an apartment! I could actually hear horses clomping down the street driving carriages, super surreal!

138 views0 comments

Commentaires


bottom of page