top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureNoah Moore

Bonjour, Paris

We decided to embrace the full Euro experience by taking the Chunnel train from London to Paris. Though we waited for an hour and half in the security line, it was a relatively smooth experience and I never once even registered we were underwater--a good thing, I think. We taxi'd to our hotel, and got to see our first glimpse at the Eiffel Tower. Unfortunately for me, I left my phone in the taxi and had to scramble, but the stress subsided and I got it back just in time for a well-deserved charcuterie board. Mom even found a nearby dog to give the rest of our board too, who we found to be named Jimmy. He didn't pay us a lick of attention after that.

We then walked to the Eiffel Tower and got to see it during golden hour. The river was right beside it, where we then witnessed a duck fight and a beautiful sunset. I had the best risotto of my life and we went back to the Eiffel Tower to see it glowing at night, and arrived just in time for the hourly light show, with thousands of bulbs flashing to make it glimmer--seriously, core memory stuff right here.

The next day, our last full day, we once again used the double decker tour bus to see the sights left on our bucket list. First stop, the Louvre and Notre Dame. We didn't even realize, but we visited Notre Dame on the exact three-year anniversary of the fire. It looks really beautiful and we even got to see. a choir perform nearby--our timing on this trip with beautiful cultural moments was a bit impeccable.

It wouldn't be a trip to Paris without two things--Arc de Triomphe and shopping. Lucky for us, they were both on the same street. The Arc had an underground tunnel to visit it, as it was in the middle of one of the biggest roundabouts I have ever seen. Either me or Abi would definitely get rear-ended there, I imagine.

We finished with a bus ride past our favorite tower and some wandering before dinner. The restaurants all are so elegantly decorated and very Parisian--the architecture, the streets, they are all just as I imagined, which was a great thing because I had high hopes. We even found an Easter festival by the river.

We did as much sight-seeing we could before getting dinner and ice cream (for me and Jonah, ice cream-stuffed macaroons) and took in the city one last time, finished by yet another trip to the Eiffel Tower. We had the absolute best weather possible and I feel so lucky to have experienced it all with my family right beside me. Until next time, Europe--Moore family out!





14 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page