top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureNoah Moore

Bonjour, Lyon + reunions

After doing my own solo trip to Italy, I really felt prepared to travel to France alone, even though I'd be meeting up with two friends from home, so obviously... I flew to Lyon, France and made it to my hostel, which was just down the street from my friends', Cameron and Abby's, place.





We started the next day by exploring the city and finding the best breakfast place ever, where Cameron ordered octopus but I settled for a grilled cheese... because obviously. As a newly-minted coffee drinker, I think my body just naturally needs it before 11am or I get grouchy. And sometimes, the coffee really is too pretty to drink (not like that stops me...)



Then almost came time to hike up the hillside to the best views, but not before we could manage to find the best desserts I've ever had, including a marzipan pig in a blanket (har-dee-har) and more.




It seems like every city I go to has some type of hill we just HAVE to walk up, and the sights were well-worth the walk. We toured the Cathedral on top of the Hill, and got some beautiful sightseeing pics, along with seeing a mass inside.

Naturally, our next step was sight-seeing the rest of Lyon (which I could not fight calling 'lion,' instead of 'leon'). We did a boat tour in the bitter cold, some shopping, stumbled upon an ancient theatre and took a ferris wheel ride over the city.


The art museum was full of beautiful art and architecture (of which I am no connoisseur), but most especially the Van Gogh pieces on the top floor. And I simply cannot forget the cutest cat cafe ever that we visited and got a charcuterie board at. The cats were running around, and there was even a bunny--and nowhere was off limits for them.

But the best part of this trip was the familiar faces and getting to explore a new place (one I admittedly would not have travelled to on my own) with some of my best friends. The beauty of this trip and this place is not lost on me, and I will remember Lyon and the gorgeous cats and pigs (in a blanket) for a long time. Au revoir for now, Lyon, France!

7 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page