top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureNoah Moore

Back to School: My First Week in Instituto


When I say the hills are steep...

It was finally time to hit the ground running by starting my job as an English teaching assistant. Though I live in Jerez, I commute about 30-40 minutes each day to work in Arcos de la Frontera, where I teach students from sixth grade to eleventh grade age and work four days a week. Arcos is notably a very steep hill and the bus stop... is at the bottom. BUT, WKU too was on a hill, so my calves can take it! I have learned to enjoy my commute through the city, which is so gorgeous and features mostly white buildings and scenic views (and sweaty Americans like myself, though few and far between...)


Arcos de la Frontera, Spain

My first week featured biology, philosophy and music classes and though I had to teach about sexual/asexual reproduction day ONE, I really did enjoy the throwback and the students. I even got to sing the English song "Falling Slowly" for one of my classes in music as they played piano and guitar, which was super fun. My teacher said I will get to sing every week! I also had to translate a philosophy class about the meaning of our dreams and consciousness, which was a bit of a challenge and super intimidating but any English is good English I guess!


My second week, I was placed in geography and physical education--I was up at 6am to catch my 7am bus to make my 8am jump-rope class, so it has been a week full of laughs and early mornings. I didn't quite have enough vocabulary for the gym class, but I'm learning and loving how much it feels like American high school.




With that said, walking into the school by hundreds of Spanish teens was a bit intimidating at first... and still is, even after getting to know them. To me, that was the best remedy--the anxiety and cultural/language shock even after knowing Spanish dissipated by getting to know the students. They are so funny to me because many of the classic student archetypes are still here-- the class clown, the 'doesn't want to be there' and the chatty people in the back of class (which was me, let's be honest). They also make fun of me when I mess up something in Spanish, so thick skin needed!

The outside of my school in Arcos!

I presented about myself with a nice slideshow of Skyline chili, KFC (which they actually have here so I cling to when talking about KY) and my family and friends. Their questions, however, were more geared at what sports I played, my favorite video games and my favorite foods--not surprising for middle school age! I also presented about American music, sure to include Taylor Swift but also some classic country, which they didn't really understand--I even showed them a Southern accent!


Took the long way home through Arcos and ended up with this view! Clearly it was bright and hot too...


It can be a little difficult to speak only in English, which is weird because usually it's my default but living here, it is hard to adjust to switching back and forth. But all the teachers I have met have been wonderful and understanding, and I'm excited for the school year! Here's to hoping I survive freshman year P.E. class the second time around!

33 views0 comments

Comentarios


bottom of page