top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureNoah Moore

Exploring Catalonia

Updated: Apr 26, 2022

Being in a European country, there's not a whole lot of people to visit across the country--especially hailing from Kentucky. But I got to see one familiar face, Jonathan Darnell, the last weekend in February by flying into Barcelona and visiting the cities of Tarragona and Reus.


Tarragona, as I learned, is the cultural home to the stacked human towers that are famous in Spain, stacking up almost ten people vertically on each other's shoulders. Though I couldn't see it for myself, I did get to see the rest of what makes it so special. It had everything from ancient Roman ruins to the real Trojan horse race grounds still intact.

In Reus, there was a tennis tournament happening live in the square, next to the Catalonian protests for secession from Spain, which was an interesting political thought-provoker; there was also a protest in support of Ukraine. The cities were both so beautiful, and I got to have the best ramen of my life at this cool Tokyo-themed restaurant.

We spent our last night in Barcelona and got to roam the city, which is so big that even though I had already visited, I don't think I even registered that it was the same city. It was so great to see the northern part of Spain and immerse myself in Catalonia (still love you, Andalucia, don't worry!).

3 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page